Anyone have any good remedies for poison oak?

Along with my find Saturday I also found the worst case of poison oak I've ever had. Swollen eyes, busting blisters the size of nickles, one of my arms is about 1 1/2 the size of the other, it's frickin great!

Went to the doc and got a cortizone(?) shot and some ATARAXX pills to help with the itch and sleep.

Anyone got any good home remedies or advice? (besides stay the hell out of poison oak) :spank:

wjbell

I know the spelling is wrong but it's something like this calamine lotion and it's pink I think.I know it's good for others in my family has used this.Me I can lay down in it without trouble.

I'll try to find it and get back with you.

Chuck Anders

Thanks. Yeah, calamine. I have that. Not working too well though. This poison oak just laughs at that stuff. :D I need some jet fuel and oatmeal mix or something... Hopefully the shot will kick in and start doing something.

Back in high school, I was a seasonal firefighter, with CDF, here in Calif. We had a fire on Black mountain, and it was like Chuck said, the Smoke gave me a case of poison oak, that put me in the hospital. for almost aweek, My nose, throat, and everything else was closing up, After that, I can take it rub it on me, sleep in it, or most anything else, and I don't get it. I' think once you get it that bad, you immune system kicks in. Leave the blisters alone, it only spreads it, try taking baking soda baths. You want that crap to dry up. Grubstake

Thanks guys. I guy once told me the native Indians use to eat it. He said pick a bud and eat it. You'll get the worst case but never get it again. I would never do that, but kindof goes with grubstakes getting it in your immune system.

I think I'll just get some oatmeal and baking soda tomorrow.