what are you missing gpz

I have been  using the GPZ 7000 since it first came out. Today I confirmed , at least in my mind, you can miss gold if you are not in the right mode. I used Difficulty in a  black sand iron rock mineralized area. Didn't get a thing. I switched to Normal and ran 20 sensitivity like I always do and went back to finding gold. I have been using sensitive 20 and normal for a few months and  even though  it  is hard to use I don't  back off much. I suspected difficult was losing gold all along and now I know it even in terrible ground. You can back off the gain and still get the gold but I tried several targets in Difficult and did not hear a thing.

This is just to keep people informed that may not know about running between these two choices and what I believe. I tested this several times .  I am a Gold Bug 2 user so I am used to noisy thresholds so I am comfortable listening to an erratic detector. Some people choose to run real stable , but I am not one to do so.

IMG_2459.JPG

We sure do leave gold behind using Difficult, no doubt about it.

If I start getting the "he haws" from the ground I will always go into Extra Deep while remaing in Normal before ever considering using Difficult.

Most of the gold pictured below was taken off a small pounded area one weekend using Extra Deep / Normal.

The GPX moaned and groaned on this ground too, and I believe that's why so much gold was still there, previous people had gone into Enhance, Smooth, or Salt to tame it giving similar results to the Z in Difficult. 

What is more, all those pesky little bird shot don't register (except iron ones) on Extra, and it makes an excellent patch hunting timing as you don't need to be so particular with coil swing speed and attitude. 

I think many are scared to use this timing thinking you will loose gold, well I reckon you'll lose a lot more in Difficult.