Man and machine

Dear group;

I recently asked a question on another forum and I have yet to recieve any replies on opinions on it. I would therefore like to take this oppurtunity to present my question to the fine members of this forum in hopes of generating a gentlemanly discussion. My question is this:

"Which is biggest factor in successfully locating and gold nuggets, the detector or the operator?"

Let's take a hypothetical situation and determine which person has the better chance at finding nuggets.

Detectorist A:

He is a total newbie detectorist who has just purchased his first detector from Rob Allison, Bill Southern, Doc, or any number of other fine dealers. He has never handled a detector before and in fact, has no prospecting experience of any sort. He has never panned or dredged before. He purchases a GPX-4000 and armed only with the knowledge, experience and training he recieved from the dealer, he sets out.

Detectorist B:

He has 4 years of experience prospecting and he has recovered more than his fair share of nuggets using electronic means, ie, a Minelab PI detector. He has an SD series detector which has all of the enhancements and several additional coils. Additionally, he has good detecting habits and he also has very good prospecting habits. He looks for gold "signs" in the terrain and he is often successful.

Question: Who has the best chance of recovering a nugget, the newbie with the GPX-4000 or the old hand with the SD series.

Thank you for taking the time to read this topic and please feel free to post any opinions, responses, thoughts or ideas you have on the subject, even if it's a "I dunno."

your friend;

LAMAR

Lamar,

The detector, like any other tool for prospecting is just that a tool. If subject A listened and practiced with his machine as he was told to do, his chances are as good as subject 2.