New homemade pinpoint device

Hi All,

I read about a homemade pinpointing device someone made on one of the other forum many years ago.

Well I decided to try it myself. The device is an old electricians tool to find nails and electrical wires in the wall. As an electrician myself I was familiar with the tool and ordered one the other day.

It has a led that lights up when metal is detected as well as a small buzzer. The blue nob is to turn on and tune it.

With some basic soldering and a few parts I have modified it and it works well. I have tried it out with my poker chip test nugget and works like a champ. Picks up 3 grains around 1 1/2"

Cost me $11.95 plus the spare parts I had around.

See actual pictures a few msg down.

Iggy :D

That looks cool. My magnet gets a lot of barbed wire and other iron bits that sometimes

fool the detector but the lead and brass could also be found with your unit and save some time. I tried using a hand held metal detector that was made to find birdshot in the birds that you shoot so you don't have to eat it but I just end up using the magnet.

Yo, Iggy...That's cool...Does it work on non-ferrous? ... You could have something there if it does.. Cheers, Unc

Uncle Ron

I have tested it out with what I have around the house.

I have tested on gold, lead, silver, aluminum, copper, brass so far.

What else would I test it on?

It basically is a mini metal detector with no discriminator.

This device is used to find wires hidden in the walls as well as identify them if they are energized or not.

What else could I test it on?

Here two picture of the actual one I made. It is only 12" long.

Iggy

Uncle Ron

I have tested it out with what I have around the house.

I have tested on gold, lead, silver, aluminum, copper, brass so far.

What else would I test it on?

It basically is a mini metal detector with no discriminator.

This device is used to find wires hidden in the walls as well as identify them if they are energized or not.