One man dredge operation?

Hello all, I am fairly new to prospecting and have had some luck finding good spots and panning in the rivers of Colorado. I recently acquired a Eureka Gold metal detector but am yet to find a nugget. digging is a little tough in winter:)

Anway, I really want to give dredging a try the only problem is that I usually prospect alone.

Does anyone know of a dredge setup that can be packed in and operated by one person and still be fairly productive?

Any input would be great. thank you.

I've run a 4 inch for years by myself, but That is about the limit for one guy alone - and that assumes you dont have to carry the dredge in a long ways - a few hundred yards is OK, but you dont want to go a long way by yourself, as with a 4 inch you will be making a number of trips both in and out.

Chris

• Admin

Hello Wilderness,

I sure love gold dredging, even though I don't get to do it much anymore. Keene makes a nice 2-inch backpacker unit. The 2-inch don't move tons of material, but if you're working shallow areas that have gold it can be worthwhile.

My overall favorite dredge was a 2.5-inch Gold King DPC unit. It ran on a 5hp Brigg & Stratton engine and could really recover very fine gold. I customized the recovery carpet to miners moss and it really helped.

The largest dredge I owned was a Gold King 4-inch that I transfered into a 5-inch with (2) 5hp Brigg & Stratton engines ran in series. This unit had tons of power and I could dredge holes large enough to sink a full-sized vehicle in hours.

Wishing you the best,

Rob Allison

Hey guys, thanks for your input!! I"m high up in the Rockies and the streams that I'm hopping to hit once some of the snow melts are ir extremely rough terrain. Clear, spring and snowmelt fed. I plan on packing in and spending a week or so camping near my sites.