TO MUCH METAL

HI EVERYONE: I'm new to the detecting part of prospecting and i've read doc's story on detecting naked and guido's revamp on what he carry's in the way of metal when out searching. My question is -- how much metal can you carry around with you and not have a serious effect on your machine? Also does it matter where you carry it in relation to the machine -- like in a back pack or on your belt or in your body? The metal in the body is substantial and no i can't get rid of it. I lite up every detector i get around and would it be possible to tune it out? Any ideas or thoughts? thanks dirty ike

Well I think that no-metal boots are the most important, I carry my pick on my side, and most usally my pistol on the other side, I wear no metal snake gardz, and my pack has extra batteries and cords, headphones, and a hydration bladder. And I'm running a 17x12 goldstaker mono, I see no i'll effects the way I'm set up. Grubstake

The main idea here is that (with exception to the coil cable & shaft) you need to keep ferrous objects as far away from the coil as reasonably possible. For me (as Grubstake mentioned), a truly metal free boot & snake guards is essential. The bigger the coil the farther away you need to keep these metal objects. My 18" Goldstalker can hear my cell phone in my front pocket in the right position. It can also hear my pick at waist high. Car keys may be heard if just to close. I have a metal free belt. Pants with nylon zippers or velcro are a good idea.

Just dont go around with an array of cast iron pots & pans..... :D If you can keep cameras, cell phones, GPS units, Knives, keys & such in a backpack that would be great. As for guns , maybe consider a shoulder harness?? I havent had a problem that I have noticed carrying my 45 on my hip at this point but I may test that theroy out too.. I suspect that it may be an issue with large coils only.