whites mxt, no gold yet

Hi

I,m new to detecting and have a whites MXT. been out several times and I find lots of bullets and aluminum cans but no gold yet. I have been a placer miner for several years and most always find gold with sluice box and pan. I thought I knew how to spot areas with gold but no luck with detecter. I know the MXT doesn't have much depth but its all I could afford right now. I always try to find bedrock for shallow gold. Am I wasting my time with the MXT? any advice would be great thanks. Dean

hi, im a newbie also. although i own a minelab 5000 now. i still have my first detector which is a mxt. i use a 6x10 nugget coil.the 4x6 is prefered but its works. i havent found any gold with it yet either. i beleive the mxt is capable to find gold.i just havent spent alot time using it. i hear its number one in alaska as there isnt much mineralization. im sure others will chime in. i know that the mxt will pick up my test nugget at decent depths. and its just matter of getting it over a nugget.where are you lacated and what area are you searching. im going to randsburg in majave dessert in ca. i finally found my first 2 nuggs after many hours with my new 5000.so its not just the detector,its the time,research and getting it over some gold.from my understanding there are better nugget detectors for same price, i didnt realize it when i got the mxt, i wanted all around detector.whites have a website and there are people finding nice gold with the mxt.so its definately capable.dont give up. i spent 3 weeks everyday til i found my first,and thats with a gpx 5000 so just to show you regardless the detector,it just dont happen cause you got the best,takes time and covering the area good.a goldbug 2 might have been better or gmt or tereso lobo. but dont give up on the mxt.it will find gold and at decent depth.its not the most sensitive but will find small gold. just keep at it and gd luck.

john

Dean,