I have some LiPO batteries for radio controlled vehicles and would like to know if anyone has figured out a way to use them with a GP3000? I have seen some pics of people using 3s 5000mah 11.1volt packs , but I have not been able to find anyone who knows what components to use to get it all working. I am thinking of a voltage regulator that will take input of 12volts and output 6.7 volts and have a safety so it will not harm the detector, would also need an audio jack/booster for headphones. Not exactly sure what an audio booster consists of? I have seen a LM350 adjustable three terminal positive voltage regulator that looks like it would work, but I have no 1st person knowledge on these, any help would be greatly appreciated. Basically I would like the simplest safest method for using a 11.1 volt lipo battery. Thanks!!

voltage regulator.pdf

• Admin

Hello Gravelwasher,

I don't know anyone using a system like that, but it's possible I guess. The GP3000 has an onboard regulator, so it will only allow a certain voltage to cross the circuit board. The larger battery will just allow more detecting time, but not so much more power being regulated. On the older SD non-regulated units, some have used 12+ volts to increase the strenght of the magnetic field, hoping for more depth. The higher voltage on non-regulated systems could over-stress the circuits and cause damage or burn up the unit all together.

Hope this helps a bit,

Rob Allison