Sharing your valuable knowledge & extending enjoyment of your claims

Hi Nugget Hunting Forum friends.... below is a post that I put up on another forum in response to a person who was talking about his age and getting down to his claims... after writing this response, I felt it may be a good post for here as well.

Hi guys (and gals if there are any here)

These type of situations seem to me a perfect opportunity to help bring younger or less experienced folks into the hobby. I know that I am totally new to all this and have tons of questions about what kind of dirt to spend time on, how to set up the right angle/flow on my high banker, what different type of bedrock are best, etc etc...... I think all of you who call yourselves "Geezers" are doing yourselves a huge disservice and should recognize just how valuable the knowledge that you possess is. In the Amateur/Ham radio hobby, we have what are called "Elmer's", they're basically "Mentors" and are described as follows:

----------------

Origin of the term "Elmer"

The term "Elmer"--meaning someone who provides personal guidance and assistance to would-be hams--first appeared in QST in a March 1971 "How's DX" column by Rod Newkirk, W9BRD (now also VA3ZBB). Newkirk called them "the unsung fathers of Amateur Radio." While he probably was not trying to coin a term at the time, here's how Newkirk introduced "Elmer" in his column and, as it turned out, to the rest of the Amateur Radio world:

"Too frequently one hears a sad story in this little nutshell: 'Oh, I almost got a ticket, too, but Elmer, W9XYZ, moved away and I kind of lost interest.'"

Newkirk went on to say, "We need those Elmers. All the Elmers, including the ham who took the most time and trouble to give you a push toward your license, are the birds who keep this great game young and fresh."--Rick Lindquist, N1RL

----------------

Note: When they say "ticket" above, they are referring to "ham license".