Total newbie question

I know nothing about prospecting. Just joined a local club which has a few claims. A friend of mine owns a cabin on Coffee Creek, Trinity County, California. I have a couple of pans and metal detectors. Finding metal, I know a little about. I have a Whites V3i and a TDI pulse machine. We'd like to take them out, detect and pan in the creek. But we don't know what the laws are about this kind of prospecting. What land, if any, is available to the public to pan or detect? Or, must one go to some government office and check for claims or lack of claims, ownership or public land before one can hunt anywhere? Or, must you always have a claim to do any hunting?

Thanks,

George

Aloha, Oregon

I know nothing about prospecting. Just joined a local club which has a few claims. A friend of mine owns a cabin on Coffee Creek, Trinity County, California. I have a couple of pans and metal detectors. Finding metal, I know a little about. I have a Whites V3i and a TDI pulse machine. We'd like to take them out, detect and pan in the creek. But we don't know what the laws are about this kind of prospecting. What land, if any, is available to the public to pan or detect? Or, must one go to some government office and check for claims or lack of claims, ownership or public land before one can hunt anywhere? Or, must you always have a claim to do any hunting?

Thanks,

George

Aloha, Oregon