Hi All! Newbie here!

First, let me say "Thanks!" to the generous folks that own and operate this fantastic site! It's pretty amazing to say the least that such a valuable place like this exists; it's great that a neophyte such as I can have such a resource at me finger tips! Again, thanks!

Okay, here we go, here's my situation ... I live in good old Reno, Nevada and recently bought a big dualsport bike that'll have no trouble taking me to places out into our great surrounding desert. And so as I'm sure you've guessed, I want to go out and look for gold and I'd like to do it with a metal detector, a brand and model that, say, is somewhere in the $700 neighborhood (as I really can't afford more than that at this time).

About 15 or so years ago I bought a White for around that price and was very disappointed when I went out with it and discovered that it made a sound like a mosquito buzzing ALL the time, as if to indicate that I was up to my neck in gold when, as far as I could tell, there were only a lot of rocks and dirt around!

Fortunately, I ended up selling it for a good price a short time later and thus didn't get too hurt.

So my question is, do they now-a days make a detector that is either dedicated to gold or has a switch to make it tuned into searching for gold - without the crazy mesquito buzzing noise - and which will ONLY sound off when there really in fact is gold beneath its coil? (Or am I a century too early to be asking if such technology exists?)

During that short time when I ventured into looking for gold, there was a machine on the market called the Fisher Gold Bug which kinda specialized in gold nugget hunting (think I'll Google it, now that I think of it:-), but wonder if the technology has jumped leap years to the criteria I've described here for my wishes? Hmm.