Newbie needs advice on claims????

Hello all,

I am new to goldhunting and would like to know how it works with claims...1. is it okay to hunt on govornment land? (any restrictions) I'm mostly interested in detecting and maybe some panning. 2. How can you tell if land has a claim on it? (without researching at the County offices - for example - signs posted???) 3. If there are no fences or postings is it okay to prospect in unknown areas? (I am moving to Prescott this summer and there seems to be a whole lotta land out there - I doubt all of it has claims on it) 4. anyone wanna show their hot spots around Prescott :blush: ???

Thanks Steve

Hello all,

I am new to goldhunting and would like to know how it works with claims...1. is it okay to hunt on govornment land? (any restrictions) I'm mostly interested in detecting and maybe some panning. 2. How can you tell if land has a claim on it? (without researching at the County offices - for example - signs posted???) 3. If there are no fences or postings is it okay to prospect in unknown areas? (I am moving to Prescott this summer and there seems to be a whole lotta land out there - I doubt all of it has claims on it) 4. anyone wanna show their hot spots around Prescott :blush: ???

Thanks Steve

Hey steve There is alot of land in yapavai county which prescott is kind of in the middle. there are also thousands of old mines and claims. they should have signs posted on all four corners . best bet is to join some clubs like the GPAA and maybe a local club like roadrunners, ETC. You still have to do your home work. As far as local blm and forestry service dept. land it is just mostly panning and detecting. when you get settled in in prescott give me a shout and I'll point you in the general direction of some spots to get you started also some of the equiptment you'll need for this area. CURT

Thanks Curt. I will do that.