Hello from southwest Arizona

Hello everyone, I live between the harcuvar and harquahala mt ranges. The gold is very fine in this area with hot rocks every step of the way. I am a novice at prospecting for sure. I bought a mid level detector( gold bug 2)that seems to work well with the discriminator when I used it out in quartzite at the miners camp claims(Oh yeah I wanted a minelab but I don't have the bling). But in this area that I live the gold is to fine and the areas that are more concentrated with gold are of course all claimed. I did find some gold in a 4 inch quartz vein in the harcuvar mt. range and now have 2 claims contiguous. I had seen some people from Arizona on here that was why I decided to join up and maybe pick some brains on some issues. Like the minerals that are in the vein on my claims. (I will post some pictures)But am not sure if it's appropriate thinking this forum is not for hard rock mining. Also I live 35 miles from alamo lake and 55 miles from the Colorado river,with temperatures all ready to the boiling point I was wondering if any one new of open to public to pan areas on the shores. I would like to find a place especially on the river being its nice clear water. But cooling off in the water, doing a little fishing, looking for gold, not much that is better then that. Thanks,All (Hold on to that pyrite found out mine was mixed with high grade gold) Looked blocky like all the other pyrite I had ever seen. Go get that Au

• Admin

Hello DesertRat50,

Welcome to the forums. You live right in gold country, even though it's hot this part of the year. I would personally like to hear more about the gold vein discovery that you found. I have found thousands of gold nuggets ranging from sizes to a grain to pound in weight, but have yet to find an actual vein or source. I'm sure most of them have pinched out (eroded away), but that won't stop me from searching.