Newbie needs help

Hi Everyone,

I really need help. First off I love this forum. I just happened to stumble upon it in a google search and there sure is tons of info here.

Here is my problem. I am relatively new to this and really want to get started but i am also limited in funds to start off with. Basically i cant afford a new minelab 3500 or 4000 and I also want to be versatile between nugget hunting and coin and jewelry.

I live in Nw Indiana along lake michigan so the majority of my hunting is going to be coins, jewelry and relics. On the other side my folks live in North Carolina next to Andrews and the Nantahala forest and that whole area is loaded with rivers, streams, creek beds and you name it. Not to mention that andrews is well known for its gold. I only expect to maybe spend 3 weeks out of the year down there nugget hunting.

So my question is, is there a reliable unit that will work in all situations or am i better off buying 2 units, one for nugget hunting and one for coins and such. Funding available is only around 1600-1700.00 to make my purchase. Can anyone advise my best option here and what unit or units will be best for a beginner to get the hang of.

I appreciate any help.

Thanks

:D Hi bushpilot

I live in Arizona and last year decided to get into metal detecting for gold. I have done what you and most others do just look and read alot of information. I also was not willing to startout spending a whole bunch of cash for a new hobby that I was not sure of if I would contiinue after a year.

I decided ona Minelab SD2100v2 which is a great middle of the line PI (I think it means Pulse Induced) gold detector. The cost of a new one with all the extras and shipping is right up your price range.

What is nice about the 2100 is that its very easy to adjust and go. It is great resonable cost PI detector.

So thats my 2 cents.

Oh by the way you want to see my first nugget I found last weekend. :D:D:D