Best type detector for southern New Mexico desert?

First of all, hi everyone! I've enjoyed your posts and have learned alot. I'm new to metal detecting and thinking about getting a detector and I would like your opinion. I am in Las Cruces, NM near the chihuahua desert. From what I understand the ground here is highly mineralized. How mineralized, I don't know. I was going to get the fisher goldbug2 detector but because of the mineralization I am thinking about getting a PI model instead. First of all, can someone confirm that the ground is highly mineralized, I don't know how to tell. Does anyone have any experience down here or have any advice they can give me?

Hi Rand;

welcome...your question implies that you will be hunting for Gold Nuggets...if that is true the GB2 is a great machine to get started with. However, if you are certain you will be nugget hunting there and other places and if money is no object, I would go with the Minelab 4000...with the right coils and experience many are rivaling the GB2 with their 4000's in the fly-speck sizes...

Don't get me wrong, any gold nugget of any size thrilled me when I first started and they still do...if 4500 bucks is too steep for your first Pi there are other units with excellent abilities and many used units available.

One way you can tell if there is a lot of minerization in your area is to drag a strong magnet through a sandy wash, if it comes out looking like Santa's beard you have lots of iron in that soil...there are other types of mineralization too but Reno Chris or Jim Straight can explain those...

well I have babbled enough

good luck

Fred

Rand30, I am also looking for a detector. I think the same way, the 4000 is a bit high for me right now. Maybe after few nuggets and the fever gets me so I will then invest on higher quality. Any comments about the Eureka Gold? I've been reading so much about all the models out there that my heads spins. But got to make a desicion soon. Thanks.