Rich Hill

Well went out today at rich hill to see how well the ace 250 works for nugget hunting....Yeah that is a no go hahahahaha. Had some people stop by to say hello to me and showed me what a nugget looks like since I am new to prospecting...well they put their nuggets under my ace 250 and not even a single hey dumb@ss we are right here...so back to the drawing board for me. but they said the ace 250 works better for coins...just not gold hahaha. well i will keep yall upto date on this newbie tryin things out

I have never used the ACE 250 so I can't give you specific instructions but I will offer generall advice regarding VLF's and thier use for nugget hunting.

First, I am assuming you were using the discrimination mode. If so, gold nuggets are very low or poor conductors. A nickel will indicate somewhat similar to a 1/4 oz nugget, so that gives you an idea of their conductivity. As such, much smaller nuggets will cause a response down in the tinfoil or less range at best when using the disc mode.

The best mode to use on a VLF is the all metal mode and dig everything. If you have to use the discrimination mode because of no way to easily use the all metal mode, set the disc for the minimum disc setting and use that.

You can get an idea of what smaller nuggets will respond like by using a small piece of lead, such as a piece of a lead off a 22 shell. A small sinker will work fine also, such as a split shot.

Don't feel embarassed or discouraged. Most people just getting started do not know just how nuggets will respond and as such, they ususally make similar mistakes. Many people think that since gold is used on electronic parts, it must be a great conductor and will act much like silver. Unfortunately, that is not the case or the reason it is used on electronic equpment. Gold does not tarnish so critical connections are plated with gold to assure a reliable contact. Also, the gold plating is extremely thin so it causes no ill effects.