What's wrong with this picture?

Hi,

I'm going to try to include a picture of the two coils that came with my Infinium detector. I bought this on eBay with two coils and two lower shafts exactly the way they are shown here. According to the old man who sold me my first detector, they should be wound like the DD coil on the left. Is there any reason why they might be wound like the mono coil on the right, or does it even matter. I seem to be having the same type of problems as MedicDan a little further down with my mono coil only and I'm hoping it might be due to this.

TIA,

Carl

Carl; there was much discussion about how to run the coil wire some time back...there may be some difference on small coils but it probably matters more on the real big coils...I am not an expert but a wire produces a magnetic field when current flows through it and wrapping a coil round and round probably increases that effect...oh, Reg, help!!! where are you now???

I leave a little slack for the coil to move, run the wire straight to the end of the lower rod then wrap the wire the rest of the way...keeping movement out of the wire is the most important aspect...to avoid false signals.

Fred

It is best to run your coil wire straight up the shaft as fred says tapeing it in a few places so there is no movement but leave a little slack so you coil will go flat when it is on the ground then after starting up the wpper shaft wrap it and if need be tape it to hold it secure and you will never have any problems with false signals.

Ron

• Admin

Hello Carl,

Everyone gave you some great advice. It's always best to keep the searchcoil cable away from the searchcoil as best as possible. I run mine straight up the lower shaft and then start wrapping at the the junction of the two shafts (lower meets upper).

Standard electrical tape has always work good for securing the cable to the shaft.

Take care,

Rob Allison

Hi Guys,