SD2000 Coils

Hello everyone,

I'm a newb here and am planning a trip to Arizona for a couple weeks in 2-4 months depending on my work schedule. Am curious as to what coils are recommended for the Bradshaws and Rich Hill (DD, Mono or both). Any suggestions would be appreciated to eliminate trial and error hunting. I have more ?'s but I'll start with this one.

Thanks

Tony

I'd answer that, but thats one detector, I've never had in my hands. Uncle Ron runs a 2100, he might be able to help you on that. I ran a 2100 for about a week as a loaner, There not that hard, manual ground balance, I am pretty sure so is the 2000, so they should be in the same ball-park. Grubstake

• Admin

Hello BF750,

I ran the Minelab SD2000 for several years back in the early to mid 90's here in Arizona. One great thing about the SD2000 is it's "mineral immunity." I believe this has to do with two things, (1) Pulse Induction Technology & (2) A Lesser Sensitivity vs. other SD/GP series.

I ran a Mono everywhere in Arizona, even over ironstone patches. Using a DD on a SD2000 in my opinion would be a be sacrafice to sensitivity and depth. With the SD2000 you want to gain everything you can, so a Monoloop searchcoil gives you a bit more depth and sensitivity.

With a small Monoloop Searchcoil and having no mods on the SD2000, the smallest gold nugget I could find near or at the surface was around 4-5 grains. I used the Minelab 8-inch Round Mono mostly, as at that time the Coiltek Joey Mono wasn't available.

Looking forward to hearing more of your questions. Hope we were able to answer some of them so far.

Talk with you soon,

Rob Allison

• Admin

Hello BF750,

What mods did you have done to the SD2000?

Yes, I think the new Coiltek Lightweight Goldstalkers would be a good choice if you're looking for mono coils right now. Coiltek is also in the process of making these lightweight Goldstalkers in bigger ellipticals and rounds in the near future.

Talk with you soon,

Rob Allison