SD2100 and Wallaby Pro DD

Hello, first post on your great forum though I have been reading the posts along time. I have a Sd2100 and a Platypus mono. I was going to get a wallaby pro dd, but I can't find many posts on how they preform on the SD2100 except for one fellow who likes it on his 3500 but prefers monos on his SD2100. I am hopeing to get to Alaska this summer and was thinking I should have a good DD coil along for hot areas and since I am new to this it might help the frustration level out by using a good DD coil. Thank you, Seb

Seb,

I am new to the 2100 also, but have a lot of experience with the later models, GP and GPX's. I may be wrong, but I think the 2100 only accepts mono coils (no discrimination). A DD coil will work in pseudo mono on the 2100 and that is what comes with the V2. The 2200 was the first model that used a DD coil and had discrimination. Some of the long time veterans will have the definate answer. You may be better off just getting a mono, but from what I have read, DD coils in pseudo mono work better is some ground types. Take care.

Cheers,

matt

Seb & Matt...The sd2100 works fine with both DD & Mono coils...It is good to have a DD with the 2100...I have several for mine...The Wallaby mono for the SD2100 is a great coil, but if you don't have a DD of any sort, then the Wallaby DD would be a good choice...Cheers, Unc

Just to add what Uncle Ron said, the DD coil on a SD2100 does not work as a pseudo mono. It works just like a full featured DD coil, you just don't get the sbility to discriminate like you do with the later models because the 2100 does not have discrimination. You may be getting a little confused because the GP units had the ability, when hunting with a DD coil to switch into pseudo mono mode which gave you only the left hand side "D" of the coil to work with. This made the coil easier to pinpoint with and you had a target out of the hole.

Doc