Northern Nevada

Well, I have finally been able to plan a short trip to Northern Nevada to do some prospecting. We will only have about 2 days MAX of hunting time, so we will definitely NOT be cleaning out any areas :lol:. There will only be 2 detectors, a sluice box, and a few gold pans. I am real excited about this trip, even with it being as short as it is. Since I cannot routinely get out of state like this to do prospecting at this point in my life, I have only joined one club outside of California and that is the Quartzsite Metal Detecting Club. My wife cannot handle the extreme heat which is why we chose Nevada and is also why we chose to bring a sluice box as well.

Is there anywhere a person can do some nuggetshooting in Northern Nevada that is public, non-claimed land, that would at least give a small chance of finding some color? I was thinking of hitting the Rye Patch area, but I am not sure how much of that area is claimed. I am still new to the whole research part of prospecting. I know that the BLM has information on claims and what not, but I know nothing about the area and when they start asking me for specifics, I am going to sound like Bill Cosby after his dentist visit (let's see how many folks get that reference...lol).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. This will be the first real prospecting trip I take my 14 year-old daughter on so it would be cool to have something for her to get excited about.

On another note: I bought a 11" Mono Commander Coil for my 3000 today. Any comments or thoughts on that decision? I only paid $190 for it and it is guaranteed authentic and guaranteed brand new!

Thanks everyone.

Good choice on the coil.

You daughter will have a blast at Rye Patch because there are lots of gorgeous quartz crystals she can look for and collect.

You want to look for the areas called Placeritas, and Rabbit Hole, they are on the other side of the mountain range at Majuba Placers.

Doc