one little thing to remeber on the next minelab gp

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

He forgets that a large part of the price tag pays for all the hours of R&D that went into the creation of these devices. Actual cost of the goods is a minor part!

Hi kamikaze,

Take a peek at the following link and the figures showing a comparison between a modded SD2000 and a GP3000.

http://www.minelabmods.com/joomla/index.ph...mp;id=1738#1738

Count up the years and the number of models in between and tell me just how many dollars did they spend on R&D when a few cheap components changed can make so much difference.

The drip feed in technology is no myth !

regards

bugwhiskers

Minelab is in business to make MONEY, if they dont make money you will not have the 4000 or 4500 to find gold at depth with. Rob is in business to make money to feed his family. I am a business owner also, its not easy.Between insurance, equipment, utilities and everything else there is not much profit. If they are asking 5000.00 for a detector, its because they figured out how many they need to sell and at how much to PROFIT! At the top of this page it says Nuggethunting forum, this is where we talk about nugget hunting not who is making what kind of money and where. Oakwood please go back to High Desert Gold and stay there.

We are here to talk about gold and have fun.

Cooter

bugwhiskers -

Allow me to point out the serious errors in your post –

First, there have been many discussions of SD series detectors vs the GP series. It’s been going on for many years. The general conclusions of these discussions is that while the GP series is not a big improvement over the SD in the ability to see big nuggets under normal circumstances, the GPs do represent a big improvement in the ability to see small nuggets.