Introduction...

Hey All!!

Newbie here! Just wanted to say "Hi!" as well as thank the folks that own and run this wonderful website!!

I know pretty much ziltch about prospecting for gold, but am willing to read much of the info that you experienced folks have to say on the subject. I'm living in Reno, Nevada (a GREAT state indeed!!) and have been here since around '82. Born and raised in Michigan; lived there for the first 18-years of my life. Am now 54-years-young and am getting ready to experience whatever Obama and the economy have coming down the pike. (Scary I think!!)

I'm a-wantin' to get me a metal detector so that I can have some fun, get some exercise, and maybe cash in on a little gold!!:-)

I currently am thinking about getting either a Garrett Ace 250 (because I hear it's a great machine for the $$) or a White EXP which is a lot more money, but people say it's just a sweet machine all-the-way-around. Hmmm too many variables for an old fart like me to have to figure out. All I know is that I want to get out into the fabulous desert that surrounds me and see if I can snag a BIG gold nugget or two!!!

My handle, incidentally, is just a silly thing that I thought fitting as I can see myself tattered in rags walking around in the desert with a metal detector searching for gold, and then stepping into some new "duds" after I find that one special nugget.

Anyway, I thank you for your time and whatever opinion(s) you might have on which type of detector I should buy in order to have some success here in this amazing state. I am thinking that I'd like to get up to the Black Rock Desert to have a go with finding some gold with one of the two machines mentioned. I sincerely would love to hear if you folks think a neophyte such as me could get by with the ACE 250, as $$ aren't that plentiful at the moment. However, if you feel that the White is miles ahead of the ACE then I'd certainly like to know that, too.