My first day with the GPX5000

Morning trip to Rose Creek which has lots of trash.

Here's some of what I found:

Rose Creek targets

Afternoon trip to local GPAA claim which also had lots of trash. photo:

GPAA targets

I couldn't distinguish from my test nugget sound and the garbage. Played around with some settings.

I'm a novice hunter (just started this year) so there is a detecting learning curve besides the new detector.

Every hit was a genuine target - now to keep experimenting with the settings to better discriminate.

I have high hopes for some nugget action! :)

Now that's what I'm talking about!

People helping people.....

Thanks for your helping attitude Bunk!

pk

Thanks for the replies, guys.

Didn't mean to sound discouraged; I was kind of exhausted from going out twice in 1 day. I just realized that every hit was a legitimate target with NO hot rocks :)

My plan is to get fairly proficient with the detector before scheduling Rob's training session. This is so we can focus more on tips, tricks & techniques rather than just the mechanics of the machine.

The manual is well-written and illustrated. As a technician I've dealt with a lot of cruddy manuals, many written outside the country, so Minelab's is a pleasure.

Bunk- I appreciate the offer but am having a rest day. We'll touch base again soon.

Happy hunting, y'all!

I am assuming reading the manual is part of your learning process...the targets you have indicate a reasonable level of knowledge/skill (especially the tiny lead or brass)...to get maximum benifit from Rob's instruction...go soon, before you form habits that inhibit rather than help...

Fred

there's nothing like having somebody there to help you. Wish i had help. I think then i would be way ahead of where i am now. I hit a spot yesterday with my kid, that was really rich, there has to be float gold in there. It's funny that i thought i would get this a lot sooner. So keep at it! i'm not giving up yet. Going out again today....