Excalibur 1000 for nugget hunting

• Admin

Hey Jerry,

My personal experiences would say it's going to struggle on mineralization in the goldfields. If the nuggets or specimens are larger enough, it will find them, but they might have to be 3-4 Dwts in size and right on the surface.

If you plan on doing any nuggethunting for any amount of time, I would recommend you consider a good used VLF or PI at a mininum.

Hope this helps,

Rob Allison

I have had plenty of experience with the Excalibur and gold nuggets. Or should I say the lack of gold nuggets.

I thought, 17 years ago that the Excal would be the perfect all around machine. After all I had heard it was "Hot on gold!"

I didn't realize they were talking about gold jewelry, not gold nuggets.

After detecting with it three months trying to find gold nuggets finally Hoss Blackman came to my rescue. God rest his soul.

He said, "Son you can't find gold nuggets with an Excalibur." He told me to bring my machine over to him. So I did.

He took out a 1 gram gold nugget. He said "Up around these parts this is the standard nugget we find. 1 gram. You will find more of these than anything else. Now let me show you something. This is an XT18000 Gold machine." He turned it on and ran the little nugget across the coil, it just squealed with glee.

He said now turn on your Excalibur. I did, he said adjust real good. I did. He handed me the nugget, boy was it pretty. I had never held a real gold nugget before. He told me to run the nugget over the coil of my Excalibur, which I did. NOTHING.

I readjusted the sensitivity, I adjusted the threshold. NOTHING.

Hoss said, see what I mean? In order for you to find a gold nugget with that Excalibur you are going to have to hit on a piece at least the size of a button. And you don't run into those much.