Grid

I am a relatively newbie at detecting. I have two great MineLab detectors. GPX 4000 and a Xterra 705. I made a big mistake when I bought the GPX in not checking out the dealer very well. He was close to home! Not good criteria! So as a result, I am having to self train! I have watched hours of video and with the help of MLOTV have been learning a lot. Here is my question:::: Please explain a "grid" and how a person sets one up. I kind of get it but don't know how to do it.

Thanks!

Gene

Hi Gene

Lets say your out nugget hunting and you find one nugget and you want to see if you can find more.You now want to mark out a area around the spot you found the first nugget.This could be as big as 50 x 100 say are less but could be larger.Now being this is a large size then within that you can mark it off in 10 x 10 with something you will always have and that is rocks.What your going to do now is hunt every little inch of what you got grided off.The best thing when nugget hunting is low as you can and slow.Never hunt it with just one coil if you have more.I haven't said it but this is what you call griding it off and this is the best way if you don't want to miss one.

If your out there and worried about hurting the coil when hunting low then I'd say pack it up and go home.Some or most rocks you can kick away but your there to find gold so go for it.

Chuck Anders

Hi Gene