No sluice, alternatives?

Hi there!

I have a question about sluicing alternatives. I've never been panning proper, but have a lot of experience with paydirt and my panning technique isn't too shabby. I'm a geologist that specializes in river terraces, so I've been putting together an attack plan for my local gold area (san gabriel canyon East Fork). So, I have the looking and panning part down (we'll see if a slightly educated approach even gets me a flake lol), but what I do not have is a sluice. None of my friends have one either and we're not looking to buy at this time.

So, with that in mind, we'll all be classifying into our buckets with 1/4 inch mesh and going from there. I was wondering, instead of going straight to the pan from the classified material, (normally you'd sluice), would it benefit me to perhaps... fill the bucket half with water, half with material, and then agitate for a minute or two, and then discard say... the upper half of the material?

I'm just wondering what I can do with a bucket, maybe a garden hand rake , or say anything else from around the house so as to further refine the material before I start breaking my back panning.

Thank you for any suggestions!

- Shawn

First bit of color in your pan and it won't be so back breaking.... :D

For real, if you get into a area with some gold I don't think you will be dumping out the top half of your classified dirt in your bucket. I'll take home some classified dirt and pan it down just cause I enjoy panning. Sometimes I even get a little speck or two.

Bring a hammer and a pry bar or good flathead screwdriver to clean out the cracks in the bed rock, let mother earth do some of the best classifing for you.

• Admin

Hey Shawn,