[AZ] Hello, new prospector here

Hello everyone, My name is Garik and I'd like to introduce myself. I'm pretty new to all this still and would like to become a prospector.

I'm 45, live in Queen Creek. I'm also a Life member of the RRPC. I started this adventure back in May of this year. I've been too two club claim sites back in late May (Hayden, Bumble Bee). Didn't go so well. I got too excited of wanting to scan everything at once and overwhelmed myself with too much excitement :). I wasn't focused at all. I also wasn't correctly prepared because using Google maps isn't the correct way to plan for an adventure. I learned a lot that day.

I got my very first Metal Detector for Christmas 2018 which was the Equinox 800 with an additional 6" coil. I love this machine so much i'm now a Minelab Fan. In fact i like "Minelab" so much i have just recently purchased a GM1000 and a GPX-5000 with an additional 8" commander mono (from Rob of course :)). Oh and that GPX-5000 box, wow! I have't opened it yet, i swear holding it feels like i'm holding the "Ark of the Covenant" lol. I might melt if i open it...Indiana Jones?

I'm primarily focused on the GPX-5000. There's a lot more to learn than learning lets say the GM1000. I also have a lot to learn about Geology, I purchased a few books so now its time to read them and study the internet more.

I'm planning to start my adventure(s) in September (18th) once the temperature drops below 100F.

I'm happy to be here, thank you everyone :)

• Admin

Hey Garikfox,

Welcome to the forums.  Thanks for all the business and I'm sure you will have a blast in the goldfields.  You are in good hands here, so continue to ask questions and post anything you wish.  

Looking forward to seeing your first gold nugget find post here!  

Rob Allison